BCPS Celebrates School Board Recognition Month

BCPS Board of Education


As Kentucky observes School Board Recognition Month in January, Bullitt County Public Schools is joining in the celebration. School board members are ordinary people who demonstrate extraordinary dedication to our public schools. Bullitt County Public Schools board members are responsible for our community’s most precious resource and the key to its future – our children and their educational opportunities. This month we take a moment to recognize the value of their work to our students and our community. 


The voters in our community have elected these local leaders, who work to give every child in every classroom access to high quality teaching and learning. Our board members: Linda Belcher, Debby Atherton, Nita Neal, Lisa Hodges, and Darrell Coleman, are among more than 850 school board members in the state that are being recognized this month for their service. These five men and women serve our community with minimal compensation and maximum effort. Board members spend hours reading materials and digging into reports to prepare for long, detailed meetings. State law also requires board members to obtain training on finance, ethics, leadership and other topics. 


School Board Recognition Month in January is a good time to recognize BCPS school board members for their work. It’s our hope that the people in our community will take a few moments this month to thank them and to learn more about the work of our school board members who bear the tremendous responsibility of ensuring the long-term success of our school system – and of our community’s children. 


In January, join with others from throughout our district and state to salute the men and women who help support the work of our public schools. Make a special effort to tell each school board member that his or her hard work has been noticed and is very much appreciated. #LoveKYSchoolBoards

Back to School News       Print