link to home page
Bullitt County Public Schools: The Leader in Educational Excellence
2019 Governor's Scholars

A select few Bullitt County high school juniors are among this year’s Governor’s Scholars.

Bullitt Central – Madison Carter, Savannah Price, Grace Rock and James Reading.

Bullitt Advanced Math and Science (BAMS) Program – Jacob Harrison (Alternate).

Bullitt East – Olivia Armstrong, Emily Ezell, Andrea Foley, Lauren Jones and Shelby Knieriem.

North Bullitt – Brooklyn Cahoe, Mackenzie Conn, Grace Gipson, Peyton Holmes, Lauren VanderEspt and Samuel Hutchins.

According to GSP Executive Director Aristofanes Cedeno, the statewide committee faced difficult choices in this year’s selection.

“There was a highly competitive field of 1,863 outstanding young Kentuckians,” Cedeno noted. “The 1,020 students accepted represent 55% of the total pool of candidates.”

Governor’s Scholars will be assigned five week summer sessions at either Bellarmine University, Centre College or Morehead State University.

According to the GSP website, the program strives to enhance Kentucky’s next generation of civic and economic leaders. Established in 1983, the program provides academic and personal growth through the balance of a strong liberal arts program with a full co-curricular and residential life experience. Students must complete an application and compete with others from across the state. Those selected attend the program free of charge.

Back to School News      Print News Article
Bullitt County Public Schools
1040 Highway 44 East
Shepherdsville, KY 40165